top of page
Search

Winter Hiking in West Virginia

SATURDAY - Short Hike Along the Monongahela

Lyn Yuen and I made a quick evening trip to a hiking trail along the Monongahela River. Supposedly goes up into Pennsylvania, but I didn't bother checking the map. Most the shots here are on my Lomo LC-A+ which is a recent camera I am still trying to learn to use best. This camer has a fairly wide angle lens so I can capture landscapes well. I've been shooting "cheap" Fuji 200 which typically has a cooler blueish hue to it.


Lomo LC-A+: 35mm format: 36 Images Per Roll

DANGER

Oil and Water


Steel Along the Monongahela

A Building and Some Clouds


I'm a fan of how the above photo turned out especially the clouds in the background. The image also has some soft edges with a slight vignette, which is standard for the Lomo LC-A+ I used here.

Here are some more clouds. Wow. Clouds.


 

COOPER'S ROCK STATE FOREST

The next day I drove 20 minutes from Morgantown to Cooper's Rock State Forest. Since it had recently snowed and kept below freezing the front entrance was closed. Instead I chose to park at a small lot where a roadside trail led into the area. I brought my Lomo LC-A+ and Lomo Lubitel 166U along for the 6 mile out-and-back hike to the overlook. Photos in color are the LC-A+ on some cheap Fuji 200 that I developed in my sink. The later black and white photos are on the Lubitel 166U which marks my first roll of TMax 400. The hike wasn't strenuous or especially cold. I actually felt kind of hot midway through. After about 1.5 miles I moved from the hiking trail to the adjacent road to move quicker. I figured since no cars were coming the road would be the most direct route.

Roadside Trail

Along the Way

Far Away

Left Behind

Off Trail

Overlook

 

I made it to the overlook and then got two photos before using up the last of my 35 mm film for the weekend. Those two shots turned out nice enough. I pulled out my Lubitel 166U with black and white film in it and got to work. It is important to note the main overlook area sits on in boulder that is semi-flat. The surface has a slight downward slope and is inherently uneven since it is you know, rock. These conditions with the remaining ice means I did almost fall a few times with camera in hand. However, I survived the naturally sloped inclined.


LUBITEL 166U - Medium Format: 12 Images per Roll - 6x6 format

Anyway. I checked what settings I needed for my photos and the lighting was actually too bright leading to my images being overexposed. Overexposing an image is better than underexposing and it wasn't too bright so I shot what I could. After I got back to Pittsburgh I realized I had brought a filter in my bag that would have reduced the light a few stops and prevented any overexposure. I shot most of the T-Max at the overlook and I am really happy with how they turned out. I continue to be impressed by this little Russian camera.

Overall, this was a fun weekend trip. Weather wasn't too bad and I got to see what Cooper's Rock looks like in the Winter.





















12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page